Live Chat Software

AirCheck Texas Assistance Program

If your vehicle is registered in Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, or Tarrant County and your vehicle has failed the state emissions inspection within the past 30 days, you may be eligible for a repair voucher up to $600 toward emissions repair assistance. For a limited time, if your vehicle meets certain requirements, you may be eligible for a replacement voucher up to $3,500 toward a qualifying replacement vehicle.

Huffines can help guide you through the application process and get you into a new vehicle today.

Print out the application at

and bring it into a Huffines dealership asap.

Due to budget cuts, funds for this program are extremely limited this year and are issued on a first come, first served basis. Once they are gone this program will be suspended until next year. Act fast to make sure you qualify for this assistance.



AirCheckTexas Accepting Vehicle Replacement Applications

Program had been focusing on repair assistance

Feb. 12, 2014 (Arlington, Texas) – AirCheckTexas Drive a Clean Machine will continue helping qualifying motorists purchase newer, more fuel efficient vehicles, after it began accepting applications for replacement assistance in North Texas for a limited time Feb. 10.

Residents with vehicles that have failed the emissions portion of the state inspection in the past 30 days or are more than 10 years old are encouraged to apply for replacement assistance if they meet the income criteria and certain vehicle requirements.

Assistance is open to vehicle owners in nine Dallas-Fort Worth area nonattainment counties (Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant). AirCheckTexas is one of many programs implemented to help North Texas reach attainment of the federal government’s ozone standard, which it has until 2018 to meet.

This is the third year in a row the replacement assistance has operated on a limited basis, following a reduction in funding. The repair component of the program, offering vouchers worth as much as $600, has continued year-round.

During the four months replacement applications were accepted in fiscal year 2013, 1,150 vehicles were replaced. Since the program began in 2002, 29,900 vehicles have been replaced, while 28,450 have been repaired with the help of vouchers.

A family of four earning $71,550 or less per year may receive assistance. The program offers $3,000 vouchers toward replacement of a vehicle with a newer, cleaner automobile. The amount increases to $3,500 if the newer car or truck is a hybrid, electric or natural gas-powered vehicle.

For information on the status of the program and a video explaining the application process, visit

Applications and income documentation for all adults in the household must be submitted by fax, 817-608-2315, or mail. The mailing address is AirCheckTexas Program, P.O. Box 5888, Arlington, TX 76005-5888.

NCTCOG is not able to assist walk-ins because of limited resources. Assistance through this application-based program is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. After enough applications have been received to exhaust the available funding, the replacement portion will be closed. The repair program will continue, but replacement applications will no longer be accepted for the rest of fiscal year 2014. The program could be briefly reopened to qualifying motorists seeking replacement vouchers in fiscal year 2015.

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 240 member governments including 16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit Additionally, to influence how North Texans can learn about and have input on transportation plans, take a short survey at

We have detected that you are using an outdated version of Microsoft Internet Explorer (version 10 or lower) that is no longer supported.To access this website, please upgrade to the new Microsoft Edge browser or Internet Explorer version 11, or alternatively you can use the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers.